Status post St. Baldrick’s: digesting thoughts & emotions

Status post St. Baldrick's: digesting thoughts & emotions

My goal was $1,000 in 34 days. I made it to $1,090 in 34 days! Lots of good news:

–my fundraising page is still live, and will be so through the end of this year, so if you’re interested in donating money towards conquering childhood cancer, click on my photo and it will take you to my donation page.

–The hair is coming back. It is still short enough that it sticks straight up on top, but each time I think I’m going to complain about that, I remember why I did it and on whose behalf.

I had a friend ask me this week if I’m going to do it again. I haven’t ruled it out, but it has nothing to do with my outward appearance. The actual event itself was such an emotionally powerful one, I’m still trying to process it six weeks later. I was naively unprepared for the impact the day would have on me.

I still cry thinking about the two women who were being shaved after me, each holding a picture of the young man they had just lost to cancer the week prior to the event.

I’m still wishing I knew the name of the young man who seemed to be there by himself, he must have been no older than 15, who sat in the chair next to me silently sobbing for someone he lost. I don’t know his story. The only thing I could think to do was to reach out and grab his hand and give it a very tight squeeze. We never exchanged so much as one word. I hope his heart is feeling less burdened today.

I am so incredibly blessed to have participated. As I mature, God constantly shows me how much I get from giving. I could not have bought these feelings of gratitude, the humility, the connection I feel to others around me for $10,000. I helped raise money to help those who must feel helpless. The gift of gratitude is priceless.

Thanks be to God.

Leave a comment