A 41 year old picture tells not only a thousand word story, it warms my heart without a word.

A 41 year old picture tells not only a thousand word story, it warms my heart without a word.

My brother is having a baby. Technically it’s his wife who’s pregnant, but we refer to him as being the pregnant one. Their three girls are a 10 1/2 year old, and two nearly 7 year old twins.

And now, a boy. due in 3-4 weeks, depending on which sonogram you choose to believe.

Erica’s mom wants to have a game at the shower, the guess whose baby picture this is. Tonight I rummaged around my stash for baby pictures, and I found this one of me with my mom. I’m the first born.

According to my grandmother’s handwriting, this was taken November 25, 1972. That would make me 4 1/2 months old. And apparently the shine of me hasn’t worn off my mom, if you can stand the elated look on her face.

My mom is the best! Despite me being her first, she had a second, and I can say I’m a big sister, and an aunt. And she remarried my second dad, which brought me two brothers and a sister. Mom’s got a knack for getting into the small spaces of a person’s heart and simply by being present, causes that space to grow.